Back it up back it up

How many hard drives do you see?

Just a reminder:

ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR DATA.

Surviving a hostel fire that obliterated my room in Malaysia back in February has made me forever fearful of leaving all of my data in one place.

Losing an external hard drive earlier this field season has made me feel that even the 3 external hard drives I have now might not be enough.

Having my 2 computers show me blue screens intermittently during this field season has not helped matters.

So, as I’m wrapping up this phase of fieldwork in Palawan (will be back here in December), I’m scanning all my original data sheets (actually, my field assistants are doing most of that…salamat, guys) and backing up all of my data on 3 hard drives. Might start burning DVDs.

Not an exciting update, but…important.

